802.11ac is now called Wi-Fi 5

In an effort to simplify the nomenclature

The Wi-Fi Alliance, the consortium that oversees all things Wi-Fi, is ditching the 802.11 nomenclature and replacing it with an easier name. The current 802.11ac standard is now called Wi-Fi 5 while 802.11n changes to Wi-Fi 4.

For almost two decades, Wi-Fi users have used technical names for distinguishing different Wi-Fi versions. The technology is still the same and there isn't any change about it. The only difference regards the name since the consortium aims to simplify nomenclature and use less technical terms. Now, instead of wondering if "ac" is better than "n" or if the two versions even work together, you will just look at the number.

Furthermore the Wi-Fi Alliance even wants to see this branding go beyond hardware. With future updates and implementation your phone or notebook will tell you straight away to which Wi-Fi version you’re connected.

Source: Cnet

News by Luca Rocchi and Marc Büchel - German Translation by Marc Büchel - Italian Translation by Francesco Daghini

Previous article - Next article
comments powered by Disqus
802.11ac is now called Wi-Fi 5 - Webnews - News - ocaholic